Canada bans journey from seven African nations around the world above new Covid strain | The Guardian Nigeria News

Canada on Friday banned overseas vacationers from seven African countries Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe about considerations about the spread of a new Covid strain.

Overall health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos designed the announcement, signing up for a action taken by numerous other nations around the world, which includes the United States as properly as the European Union, after the Environment Overall health Corporation declared the lately learned B.1.1.529 strain of Covid-19 to be a “variant of issue,” renaming it Omicron.

“We are acting promptly in get to guard the health and protection of Canadians,” Duclos instructed a news convention.

“We know incredibly small about this variant suitable now,” mentioned Canada’s Main Community Health Officer Theresa Tam, “including how transmissible it is and whether or not it raises severity of health issues or what the influence is on the vaccine.

“But due to the fact of so numerous mutations in distinct areas of the genome, we’re getting this precautionary evaluate,” she reported.

There are no direct flights to Canada from the seven nations stated in the travel ban.

Canadian travelers arriving indirectly from the region will be expected to attain a pre-flight negative Covid check and quarantine for 14 days on arrival in the country.

The travel restrictions will be in location until January 31, though officers “assess the evolving predicament,” stated Transportation Minister Omar Alghabra.